Connect with us


These Schools Were Just Named ‘Fulbright HBCU Institutional Leaders’ By The U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs

Today, the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs (ECA) has named 19 institutions of higher education as Fulbright Historically Black College and University (HBCU) Institutional Leaders for 2022.

Over the last 75 years, the Fulbright Program has given more than 400,000 students, scholars, teachers, artists, and professionals of all backgrounds and fields the opportunity to study, teach, and conduct research in the United States or in one of over 160 partner countries worldwide. Fulbright students and scholars are from or hosted by more than 800 colleges and universities across the United States, and thousands more campuses in over 160 countries. Fulbrighters come from all backgrounds and are selected through an open, merit-based competition, regardless of their race, color, national origin, sex, age, religion, geographic location, socio-economic status, disability, sexual orientation, or gender identity. 

The HBCU Institutional Leader status recognizes engagement across the Fulbright Program, including hosting Fulbright Foreign Language Teaching Assistants, Scholars-in-Residence, and other Fulbright Students or Scholars as well as having U.S. students, faculty and staff receive Fulbrights to study, teach or conduct research abroad.

The 19 Fulbright HBCU Institutional Leaders for 2022 include:

  • Alcorn State University
  • Bennett College
  • Bluefield State University
  • Central State University
  • Delaware State University
  • Fayetteville State University
  • Florida Agricultural & Mechanical University
  • Howard University
  • Huston-Tillotson University
  • Jarvis Christian University
  • Lincoln University of Pennsylvania
  • Mississippi Valley State University
  • Morgan State University
  • North Carolina A&T State University
  • Spelman College
  • Tennessee State University
  • Texas Southern University
  • Tuskegee University
  • Virginia State University

ECA established the Fulbright HBCU Institutional Leaders Initiative to recognize and commend the strong partnership between the Fulbright Program and HBCUs and to encourage all HBCUs to increase their engagement with Fulbright to help their students, faculty and staff to study, teach or conduct research abroad and access valuable international experiences and perspectives.

Lincoln University of PA hosts Fulbright scholars and Fulbright Foreign Language Teaching Assistants from around the globe in order to offer students world-class training in foreign language and international cultural education.

The announcement of the 19 Fulbright HBCU Institutional Leaders was made by the State Department as HBCU leaders prepare to gather in Washington, DC and virtually for the White House Initiative on HBCUs National HBCU Week Conference, and Fulbright opportunities will be highlighted in events such as the HBCU career and recruitment fair.

“HBCUs are an important part of the American and global higher education communities, providing life-changing exchange opportunities for American and international students, faculty, and administrators alike,” Assistant Secretary of State for Educational and Cultural Affairs Lee Satterfield stated.

On November 3, a Fulbright HBCU Virtual Workshop will feature best practices for HBCUs to leverage Fulbright Program engagement to support students and faculty, increase campus internationalization, and build global networks. This event is designed for HBCU faculty and staff, but is open to all.

We at Watch The Yard would like to congratulate all 19 of the HBCUs chosen as this years Fulbright HBCU Institutional Leaders. This is truly an achievement to be proud of.

Share this on Facebook and Twitter if your HBCU made the list!