Connect with us


HBCU LOVE! Alpha Phi Alpha Brothers are Committing $500,000 to Xavier University of Louisiana

The brothers who crossed through Alpha Phi Alpha’s Beta Tau Chapter at Xavier University of Louisiana are putting their money where their mouth is when it comes to supporting their HBCU Xavier University of Louisiana.

On Monday, the Beta Tau Alumni Association (BTAA), formed by several former members of the Beta Tau Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Incorporated at Xavier University of Louisiana, announced a $500,000 commitment to the university.

This announcement comes on the 85th Anniversary of the chapter, which was the first fraternity established on the campus of Xavier University of Louisiana on March 29, 1936. According to the university, the donation will support an endowment scholarship as well as student internships, a speaker series, homecoming events and student organizations.

“Since its founding, hundreds of African American men from all over the world have graduated from Xavier and have taken the brotherhood, service and life skills gained through their experiences and connection to Beta Tau to build successful careers, families and communities, including legendary Xavier University President Emeritus Dr. Norman C. Francis, Sr., Vice Presidents of Administration Anthony Rachal and Calvin Tregre, Sr., V.P. of Development Clarence Jupiter in addition to countless members of the faculty,” a press release issued by the university states.

“The Beta Tau network of brothers are proud to bring together their resources in order to give back and continue to make a positive impact on Xavier University students as well the young men who are currently Beta Tau Chapter members,” said Dr. John H. Jackson, Chairman of the BTAA. “As a graduate and Trustee of Xavier University, I understand the transformative impact and social return on investment a commitment of this magnitude can have on a young person’s life and our institution.”

According to the university, “Fifty percent of the BTAA’s commitment will fund a $250,000 endowment awarding up to $12,500 annually in scholarship support for five deserving students.  Each scholarship award carries the name of noteworthy Alpha Phi Alpha brothers and supporters of Beta Tau Chapter including United States District Court Judge Ivan Lemelle, former Mayors of New Orleans Dutch and Marc Morial, former Cook County Commissioner John Stroger, former Beta Tau Chapter President, General President of Alpha Phi Alpha and President of the Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial Fund Harry Johnson, and long-time Xavier University Dean of Students Joseph K. Byrd.  An additional $250,000 will support a host of programs and activities at the university targeting student enrichment, education and engagement.”

Learnard Dickerson, Secretary/Treasurer of the BTAA noted that, “the BTAA is a membership-based foundation established on March 29, 2020, by alumni brothers of the Beta Tau Chapter.”  The initial founding members include:

Bro. Mark Adams, Bro. Rashad Arcement, Bro. Charles Brown, Bro. Glendell Brown, Bro. Isaac Brown, Bro. Darryl Bush, Br. Justin Charles, Bro. Theartris Childress, Bro. Karl Connor, Bro. William Dailey, Bro. Learnard Dickerson, Bro. Brandon Edgerson, Bro. Larry Ferdinand, Jr., Bro. Ryan Goudeau, Bro. John Jackson, Bro. Alfred James, Bro. Claude Jarrett, Bro. Elliott Jessie, Bro. Alfred Johnson, Bro. Harry Johnson, Bro. Ronnie Jones, Bro. Ron Kelly, Bro. Nolan Knight, Bro. Henry LeBoyd, Bro. Ivan Lemelle, Bro. William Lovelady, Bro. Dallas Magee, Bro. Aaron McCalister, Bro. Donte McClary, Bro. Brian McGee, Bro. Cedric Mellion, Bro. Brian Monette, Bro. Jarvis Morgan, Bro. Victor Njoku, Bro. Stephen Noble, Bro. Lance Parrott, Bro. John Perez, Bro. Alejandro Perkins, Bro. Larry Perkins, Bro. Gregory Phillips, Bro. Marc Philpart, Bro. Leslie Pollard, Jr., Bro. Clarence Red, Bro. Donald Reed, Bro. Lauchland Roberts, Bro. Mitchell Stevens, Bro. Kerry Sterling, Bro. David Travillion, Bro. Torrin Velazquez, and Bro. Jeryl Williams.

Additional members of the BTAA’s Interim Executive Committee are Larry Perkins, William Dailey, and Lance Parrott.

The brothers are encouraging other Alphas to join in on their mission to support the university.

We at Watch The Yard would like to commend these brothers for their work to support their beloved HBCU. This is what we all love to see!

Share this on Facebook if you think this deserves to go VIRAL!